Read And I Darken by Kiersten White Online

and-i-darken

The New York Times Bestseller Absolutely riveting Alexandra Bracken, 1New York Timesbestselling author ofPassengerThis vividly rendered novel reads like HBOs Game of Thrones if it were set in the Ottoman Empire Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the storys atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine Fans of Victoria Aveyards THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahirs AN EMBER IN THE ASHES wont want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series.NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, whos expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that hes made a true friendand Lada wonders if shes finally found someone worthy of her passion.But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight againstand that Radu now considers home Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled and hearts will be broken.A dark and twisty fantasy think Game of Thrones, but with teens.Seventeen Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist.Buzzfeed Will completely spin you into another time and place.Bustle Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction.NPR.orgAn ALA Rainbow List Top Ten Selection...

Title : And I Darken
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 0553522310
Format Type : Hardcover
Language : English
Publisher : Delacorte Press June 28, 2016
Number of Pages : 496 pages
File Size : 784 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

And I Darken Reviews

  • Tara
    2018-11-16 18:24

    Gender-swapped Vlad the Impaler. Do you need to know more? And I Darken is the story of Lada, a Princess of Wallachia who falls into the hands of the Ottoman Empire along with her brother. Held hostage to ensure cooperation they plan their escape to freedom.

  • L. R. W. Lee, Author (LRWLee dot com)
    2018-11-18 22:25

    It's a very strange combination that comes into play in this book. It has hints of Indian, mixed with Islam, with homosexuality mixed in. I found this a strange, and unusual mix of competing interests. The main character, Lara, was strong and never settled for what the men in her life told her to. She fought and struggled to gain a future she only hoped would produce a future she enjoyed, with no guarantees. I salute the struggle for that is life. And no matter how painful it is to leave behind the familiar, she dared to press forward. A good read.

  • Ms. Amanda Lynn Reid
    2018-12-12 22:42

    Getting to read about a place and time that I've never read about before is SUCH a treat. The early 15th century Ottoman Empire was completely new to me, and tying in the legend of Vlad the Impaler with a gender-bent twist was pretty irresistible.

  • lisaleo (Lisa Yount)
    2018-12-10 22:27

    The basic idea of this pair of alternate-history novels (the second one is Now I Rise) is “What if Vlad Dracul”—the historical personage, not the vampire—“had been born female?” Here she is Ladislav, or Lada, the daughter of what you might call Vlad Dracul Senior, a prince of Wallachia. In 1435, when she is born, their country is under the thumb of the Ottoman (Turkish) Empire. Her father has little regard for Lada because she is a girl, and she comes to have little regard for him because of what she sees as his weakness, but he does imbue in her a deep love of her native land.